Kicking Death’s Ass!


My wife and I play computer games. We have tried Playstation 3 games, but we end up back on the PC for some reason. I think it is because that is where we learned to play games. My kids all mastered Playstation controllers early on, while when I try to play using the controller, I find myself hitting multiple buttons and turning the game off without even trying.

Diablo 3

Diablo IIISo a while back, I got my wife hooked on Diablo 2. I had read somewhere that Diablo 3 was coming out. So I sneakily got her hooked. I knew that once Diablo 3 came out, it was only a matter of time before we would be getting the new version.

Heck, I think we preordered it. Then, after we mastered it, the expansion pack came out. Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls changed the whole game. First of all, in Diablo III proper, you had to play in campaign mode. You had to work your character through Acts 1 through 4, fighting progressively tougher monsters along the way. After you do this for each character you create at least a dozen times, you get to be a little bored with the story. Once your character finished Act 4, you would have to start over at a harder level. So while the story was the same, the difficulty was tougher, so you did manage to stay interested in the game.

Diablo III: Reaper of SoulsBut when Reaper of Souls came out, they added an extra act, Act 5 and a whole new mode of play: Exploration and Adventure!

I love the adventure mode! Of course, you had to complete the Act 5 before your character could use Exploration and Adventure mode, but it was worth it! In this act, you had to take on Death himself, since you had whipped Diablo’s butt in Act 4! Once you get to Adventure mode, you don’t have to follow any set path to level up your characters. In fact, they have bounties for you to do to gain experience and special items. But, this article isn’t about the straight out of the box experience of Reaper of Souls

After a while, like all games, we stopped playing. Then, I received an email from Blizzard, the makers of Diablo 3, where they invited people to beta test their latest update. It wasn’t difficult to talk me into it, so I logged on and tried it out. They were making changes to the game that made it even more fun. They added these Nephelem Rifts and Greater Rifts that allowed a character to face even tougher enemies than the Torment Level. No longer was it possible to get bored with the game. Think you have seen it all? Try a greater rift. Each time you master one of these rifts, you unlock a harder one.

But Blizzard was not content to make the game hold our interest longer. Another update just recently added “Seasons” where you start a new character with no access to your shared stash of gear and gems you have accumulated over the years. These seasons can last anywhere from 3 to 6 months. In a season, your missions are the same if you choose to play the acts or the exploration and adventure, but you can get some pretty cool Season Exclusive loot from the monsters you kill.

I could write for hours about this game, but then I would be missing out on the action. My wife is already kicking some monster’s butt as I am writing this, so I am already falling behind! I recommend you get Diablo 3 and Reaper of Souls and get hooked now!

Actual Screenshot Of My Wizard
Here is my Wizard Sparky from Season 5 – note that the difficulty is Torment X… that is the max. I still get killed a lot, but I win a lot more battles than I lose. But Greater Rift 55 is still kicking my ass!
Tags: , ,
Previous Post

#Love #Heart Helping Hearts Beat For One Another!

Next Post

Serious Video Making Requires This Type Of Commitment!